Hola.

Wow! Today I have been in Chile for 23 days! I am finally starting to feel like a true Chilean. Although my Spanish is still very poor I feel that there are other things that are making me feel as though this is my home. 

As simple as it sounds, even just the way I cross the street now, makes me feel more Chilean. When I arrived I would wait until every single car was gone from sight to cross the street (the cars never stop or so it seems. They just slow down). Now I cross when there are speeding cars coming at me, knowing they’ll slow down enough to let me cross. Or I can be caught bounding across the street when I see that there is a gap between cars. 

This weekend was very busy. On Saturday my school hosted an event on a field a little bit from my house. It was a blast! All of the younger grades performed traditional Chilean dances in the traditional clothes! It was very interesting. They also had all sorts of traditional foods for sale that the parents of different grades had brought to sell to raise money for their children’s grade levels. A generous friend bought me some sopapillas, that we delicious but I didn’t eat them the traditional Chilean way (with ketchup) although I did try it. 

A sopaipilla, sopapilla, sopaipa, or cachanga is a kind of fried pastry and a type of quick bread served in several regions with Spanish heritage in the Americas.
This past weekend I also went to Santiago with my host family. We were there to visit my host dad’s brother, and celebrate his birthday. We never actually went to the city part of Santiago, since they lived on the outskirts. I had a great weekend spent with my host cousins or ‘primos’ and host family. One thing I noticed was that they put a solid candle on top of the cake! I am not sure if that is custom or they just didn’t have birthday candles 🤔😂


Anyways, I’m having a great time here in Chile. I miss all of you guys back home. Shout out to my best friends Leah and Hanna who are still keeping up with me even though I am 6000 miles away!

Adiós ✌️

Leave a Reply

